Using Plan Ahead Feature (Advisors)

Issue / Question
  • How do I make a plan for a student?
  • How do I edit a plan?
Environment
  • Platform
    • Bengalweb
  • Audience Affected
    • Faculty
    • Staff
Resolution

Making a New Plan
  1. Visit Bengalweb
  2. Type your ISU Username (Ex: JohnSmith)
  3. Type your ISU Password (Forgot Password?)
  4. Click LOGIN
  5. Select Academics (Left)
  6. Then go to the Advisor Tools portlet (Right)
  7. Click Registration Landing Page
  8. Click Plan Ahead
  9. Select a Term
  10. Click on the dropdown under Search and choose My Advisees to narrow search to students you advise.
  11. Click on either ID or Name. 
  12. Enter student’s name (last, first) and click on the student from the names that appear.  
  13. Click Continue
  14. Click Create a New Plan 
  15. Use the fields to narrow search results by Subject, Course Number, or Keyword. You can use any combination of these fields, or even none. If you input nothing into a field it will return the entire catalog matching the other criteria.
  16. Click Search
  17. Find desired course, and click Add Course (Right) to generally add the course, or click View Sections to view sections and click Add to add a specific section to the plan.
    • Note: You will see two panels at the bottom of the screen. The right shows a summary of what classes you’ve added, and the left defaults to a sample week with the courses scheduled. Click Schedule Details to see details of the courses.
  18. You can either click Save Plan (Bottom Right), or click Search Again (Top Right) (You may need to click Catalog Search Results first, if you were viewing sections) , and repeat steps 12-15 to add multiple courses at once.
  19. After clicking Save Plan, you will be prompted to give your plan a name. Type in a name, and click Save.
Editing an Existing Plan
Follow steps 1-10 of Making a New Plan.
  1. Click Delete (Right) if you want to delete the entire plan, otherwise click Edit (Right).
  2. Follow steps 12-15 of Making a New Plan to add to your plan. To delete individual courses from your plan, find the course listed (bottom right) and click on the dropdown under Action.  Select Delete. You can select multiple courses to delete at once.
  3. Click on Save Plan.
    • Note: You can add a note to either the course listed (bottom right, click file folder under Note) or the entire Plan (click file folder right of Plan Name). Students will be able to see these notes by clicking on those folders when they access the plan. Note:  If a student has created a plan of their own, you will be able to see the plan, but will not be able to make any changes to it or add any notes to it. 
If the plan is built with specific sections, students can register for everything in their plan at once when registration opens. They otherwise need to choose specific sections from the suggested courses.

Please get in touch with the IT Service Desk for additional assistance.
 (208) 282-4357 or Go to chat

Details

Article ID: 143215
Created
Wed 5/11/22 3:05 PM
Modified
Thu 12/22/22 8:28 AM