Add a Person into a Course [Faculty]

Description

Adding another teacher to your course is a way to share ideas, collaborate with peers, and help improve the overall quality of your online learning materials. You can also add users to your course for other reasons such as helping with grading (GTA) or to facilitate ADA accommodations (interpreter).

[Warning: You should discourage manually adding students into your academic course. Students are enrolled when they register for your course in Bengal Web.]

This Guide Will Help You to:

  • Understand the different roles

  • Add a user

  • Change a user's role

  • Seek further assistance

Understand the different roles

  • Teacher - This role has full editing rights and will be listed as the teacher in the course for students. (This role is given to personnel who are listed as the instructor of record in BengalWeb.)

  • Unlisted Teacher - This is a teacher who has access like a regular teacher with full-editing rights, but will not be listed as a teacher in the course for students.

  • Non-Editing Teacher - Non-editing teachers can teach in courses and grade students in activities and the gradebook, but do not have permission to add, remove, or edit course materials.

  • Student - You can use this role to grant access to course materials to a non-registered user. Users in this role will have the same privileges as registered students.

  • Student with Incomplete - You can assign this role to students the need access to the course outside of the regular term limit.

Add a user

  1. In the Navigation Drawer, select Participants

""

  1. On the Participants page, click Enroll users

""

  1. In the Enroll Users pop up, use the search to Select Users.

  2. In the Assign role drop-down, select Unlisted Teacher, Non-editing Teacher, or Student with Incomplete

""

  1. Click Enroll selected users and cohorts

Change a user’s role

On the Enrolled Users page, you can update a participant role from Unlisted to Non-Editing Teacher or Student to Student with Incomplete.

  1. Find the users name

""

  1. Click the Assign Roles icon

""

  1. Choose a new role

""

  1. Remove the users previous role by clicking the Trash icon

""

Note: If the user has a role set by Bengalweb/Banner you may not have the ability to delete the original role. 

Seek Further Assistance

For additional assistance please contact, ITRC at (208) 282 5880 or itrc@isu.edu

For more information please visit, Moodle.org: Assign Roles

 

Creative Commons License

This work was created by the Idaho State University Instructional Technology Resource Center and is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License.

Details

Article ID: 43331
Created
Thu 11/30/17 9:10 AM
Modified
Thu 7/29/21 2:41 PM

Related Articles (1)