Clearing Cache and Cookies

Clearing Cache and Cookies

If you are unsure how to clear your cache, here are step by step instructions:

Chrome:

To learn more about clearing your cache in Chrome, visit Google Support.

  1. On the browser toolbar, click on the Chrome menu icon   
  2. Select the More Tools link.
  3. Select the Clear browsing data link
  4. In the data drop-down menu, select the time range where you want to clear browsing data
  5. Select the Cookies and other site and plug-in data and Cached images and files checkboxes
  6. Click the Clear Browsing Data button

Firefox:

To learn more about clearing your cache in Firefox, visit Firefox Support

  1. In the Firefox menu bar, click the Firefox option
  2. Select the Preferences link
  3. Click the Privacy tab
  4. Under the History heading, click the clear your recent history link
  5. Select the Cache checkbox
  6. Click the Clear Now button

Safari:

To learn more about clearing your cache in Safari, visit Apple Support

  1. In the Safari menu bar, click the Safari option
  2. Click the Clear History link
  3. In the Clear drop-down menu, select the time range where you want to clear your browsing data
  4. Click the Clear History button

How cache & cookies work

  • Cookies are files created by sites you visit.  They make your online experience easier by saving browsing data
  • The cache remembers part of pages, like images, to help them open faster during your next visit

What happens after you clear your cache?

After you clear cache and cookies:

  • Some setting on sites get deleted.  For example, if you were signed in, you will need to sign in again
  • Some sites can seem slower because content, like images, needs to load again.

Shortcut?

If you are comfortable using a shortcut, hit Ctrl, Shift, Delete while in your browser.  There you can clear your cache or cookies. 

 

Details

Article ID: 65966
Created
Wed 10/24/18 1:58 PM
Modified
Mon 11/25/19 12:26 PM