Groups and Groupings Setup [Faculty]

The Groups and Groupings options provide a way for instructors to divide the students in order to work together on activities, give participants access to specific content, and help organize the Gradebook and participant list.

This Guide Will Help You to:
Create group shells - manually
  1. In the Settings gear menu, select More...

  2. Open the Users tab, select Groups.

Course Administration Users tab

  1. Click Create groups button

  2. In the Group name textbox, type the name of the group

  3. Click Save changes

Note: Repeat steps 3 to 5 to create additional group shells

For more information see, Creating a group

Assign participants to group

Once the group shell is created, you can assign participants to the group.

  1. In the group's box, select a specific group

  2. Click Add/remove users

User addition menu for groups

  1. Under the Potential members box, hold the Ctrl key, Select the participants

  2. Click Add

Screenshot of adding users to groups

  1. At the bottom of the page, click the Back to groups button

Create groups - automatically
  1. In the Settings gear menu, select More...

  2. Open the Users tab, select Groups.

Course Administration users tab highlighting groups

  1. Select Auto-create groups

  2. In the Naming scheme textbox, Type the name and either @ or # to automatically name the groups.

    • Type in Group @ to name your groups Group A, Group B, etc.

    • Type in Group # to name your groups Group 1, Group 2, etc.

    • Type in Team @ to name your groups Team A, Team B, etc.

  3. In the Auto-create based on dropdown choose:

    • A number of groups - will create the number of groups specified, adding users evenly to that number of groups.

    • Members per group - will create groups with the specified number of members in them until all members are in a group.

  4. Group/member count - the number of groups or number of participants in the group (depending on the Auto-create based on setting)

For more information see, Auto-create groups

Create groupings
  1. In the Settings gear menu, select More

  2. Open the Users tab, select Groups.

  3. Open the Groupings tab, Click the Create grouping button

Course Administration Groupings menu

  1. In the Grouping name textbox, type the name for the grouping

  2. Click Save changes

Assign groups to a grouping
  1. In the Groupings tab, locate the Edit column, Select Show groups in the grouping icon

Show group option in Groupings tab

  1. Under Potential members box, hold the Ctrl key, Select the Groups

  2. Click Add

Add/remove groups menu

  1. At the bottom of the page, click the Back to groupings button

For more information see, Groupings

Use groups/groupings

Once the groups and groupings have been created, you may apply the group mode to your entire course, or to a specific activity. If the group mode is defined at the course level it will be the default mode for all activities within the course - this can be changed at the activity level. The activity or resource level group mode will override the course level group mode, unless Force group mode is set to Yes.

Apply groups/grouping to the entire course
  1. In the Settings gear menu, select Edit Settings

  2. Locate the Groups section

  3. In the Group mode dropdown menu, select one of the following:

    • No groups - At the course level all participants are in one big group

    • Separate Groups - At the course level, each group member can only see work of other members in the same group. (A member of team 1 cannot see work from member of team 2)

    • Visible groups - At the course level, each group member can see both works of members inside and outside of the group. (A member of team 1 can see work from a member of team 2)

  4. In the Force group mode, choose:

    • No - This option will set the group mode specified above as the default group mode for activities and resources but allows the instructor to change the settings at the resource or activity level

    • Yes - This option will force every activity and resource created within the course to use the group mode defined here in the course settings, ignoring any settings within the activity or resource

  5. In the Default grouping, select from a Grouping that you created

Note: This grouping will become the default for all activities and resources if you are using groupings on a course level (this is not very common)

  1. At the bottom of the page, click Save and display

For more information, see Course settings: Groups

Apply groups/grouping to a single activity or resource

Note: Each activity can define its own group mode (Separate groups, Visible groups, No groups). When set at the activity level, it only applies to that specific activity.

  1. In the Settings gear menu, select Turn editing on

  2. Locate the activity or resource you would like to edit

  3. To the right of the activity click Edit, select Edit settings

  4. Once in the Edit settings, locate Common module settings

  5. In the Group mode dropdown select one of the following:

    • No groups - At the course activity level, all students will participate and have access as a whole class.

    • Separate Groups - At the activity level, each group member can only see the work of other members in the same group. (A member of team 1 cannot see work from a member of team 2)

    • Visible groups - At the activity level, each group member can see both works of members inside and outside of the group. (A member of team 1 can see work from a member of team 2)

  6. Grouping - A grouping is a collection of groups with a course. If a grouping is selected, students assigned to groups within the grouping will be able to work together

Warning: you must first create the grouping for it to show in the list.

For more information see, Common module settings: Group mode

Save Settings
  • Click Save and display to be taken to the Lesson activity.

  • Click Save and return to the course to be taken back to the course homepage.

  • Click Cancel to delete the activity and return to the homepage of the course.

Setup and Send group messaging:

When you create a group in any given course there is an option to turn Group Messaging on for that specific group:

Group Messaging option

Note: the Instructor will need to add themselves to the group to participate in group messaging.

Once toggled “on”, participants can message their group members:

  1. Click the messaging drawer icon to expand the messaging drawer. 

  2. Expand the Group menu.

Expanded Group menu

  1. Select the group, write a message and click send.

Seek Further Assistance

For additional assistance please contact, ITRC at (208) 282 5880 or itrc@isu.edu

For more information please visit:

Creative Commons License

This work was created by the Idaho State University Instructional Technology Resource Center and is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License.

Details

Article ID: 49954
Created
Fri 3/9/18 12:34 PM
Modified
Thu 7/29/21 2:44 PM